Bromley Library Service text
Powered by Google
If you are concerned or frightened about anything you see online click this link for help - Link to Child Exploitation and Online Protection Centre website - helping children stay safe online
Welcome to the Bromley Libraries Website
Bromley Libraries subscribes to a number of online reference works and makes these available free of charge to our members. Often all you need is your Bromley Libraries card number to access the following subscription databases from the library or from home. Make certain you use the correct link as some databases use a method of verifying your card that is dependent upon your location.



CANS Legal Information (from home) (from library)
Relevant and updated daily, this is a complete legal resource for anyone with a question about the rights and responsibilities associated with living, working or engaging in life in Britain.

Cobra - Starting & Running a Business
Information on how to start and run a business, write a business plan, find grants & be legally compliant.
*Available within Bromley Libraries only. Ask staff to log you on.

John Johnson Collection - An Archive of Printed Ephemera
Thousands of items offering unique insights into everyday life in Britain in the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries, including entertainment, popular prints, crimes, murders and executions, and advertising. (About the collection).

Keynote
Contains over 1000 Market Research Reports covering 30 industry sectors. Useful to students, business professionals and people setting up their own business.
*Available within Central Library Reference Service only. Ask staff to log you on.

Life in Great Britain
Study guide and practice tests for preparing for the British Citizenship test
*Available from Central, Orpington and Beckenham libraries only.

MintUK
Company database containing information on 2.5 million companies in the UK. Can search by geographic area, activity or other options to create lists of companies.
*Available within Central Library Reference Service only. Ask staff to log you on.

Newsbank
Through partnerships with leading publishers worldwide, NewsBank provides public libraries with Web-based access to tens of millions of articles and video clips from local, state, regional, national and international newspapers and other news sources.

Oxford Art Online
Includes Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Online
Includes over 50,000 people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond.

Oxford English Dictionary Online (from home) (from library)
Search the full 23 Volumes of "the internet's biggest, most prestige-laden reference book..."

Oxford Music Online
Includes The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online and The Oxford Companion to Music.

Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection
An extensive collection of reference works from Accounting to Zoology.

Times Digital Archive
A full text, searchable database covering The Times newspaper from 1785 to 1985.

New Westlaw
Contains legislation dating back to 1267. Also contains cases, journals, selected books, EU law, current awareness and news relating to legal matters.
Available within Central Library Reference Service only. Ask staff to log you on.

Which? Extra Online

Which? are a consumer rights group who have been offering independent advice and campaigning on behalf of consumers for more than 50 years. Which? offer consumer advice on washing machines, laptops, tablets, televisions, fridge freezers, vacuum cleaners and many other consumer items.
Available within Bromley Libraries only. Ask staff to log you on.

Who's Who & Who Was Who
Who's Who : The essential directory of the noteworthy and influential in all walks of life, in the UK and worldwide.
Who Was Who : Over 100,000 entries from the archives of Who’s Who dating back to 1898.